First incorporated in 1965 as the United Fund of Dunn County, we became the United Way of Dunn County with a name change in 1975. The original Board of Directors spent more than a year making careful plans for an organization that would raise money in Dunn County to pay for programs and services that improved the lives of people in our county.

Since our first campaign in 1966, we are still going strong, still helping our friends and neighbors, and still moving forward with innovative and well-crafted responses to the needs of people in the communities that comprise our county. Since our first campaign in 1966 held by the United Way of Dunn County, tremendous growth has been realized. This growth has allowed funded agencies to expand their valuable service to the residents in Dunn County. The expansion has improved the quality of life for everyone in Dunn County.

The innovative community leaders on that first Board of Directors included:

Max Baertlien - Menomonie                              Robert Lee - Menomonie
Mrs. William Bisson - Boyceville William Michaels - Menomonie
Rev. Charles Blecha - Menomonie Larry Richardson - Menomonie
Dr. Brandly - Boyceville Herb Shutz - Menomonie
James E. Breitzman - Menomonie Jim Solberg - Menomonie
Joy Close - Knapp Mrs. Blodwen Stevens - Menomonie
Harold Guntner - Menomonie William Terrill - Menomonie
Bob Jaetran - Menomonie R.E. Zimmerman - Menomonie
Myron B. Junkins - Menomonie Don P. Rice - Colfax
R.L. Lambert - Menomonie Robert L. Pierce - Menomonie